Social Justice?

I am guilty of stereotyping.  Last week, as we reviewed other student blogs in my digital media class, I noticed that this blog was listed as a “Social Justice” blog.  Social Justice?

I’m definitely not this:

rachel-maddow-gif

And I’m nothing like this:

tomi-lahren

So I immediately disagreed.

Doesn’t “Social Justice Blog” just sound like some whiny do-nothing going online to complain about how the world is unfair, but isn’t really interested in offering any solutions?  That’s not my intention at all.

Social Justice is defined as “justice in terms of the distribution of wealth, opportunities, and privileges within a society.”  There’s one phrase in there that I embrace wholeheartedly: opportunity.  Information is opportunity, and it’s the solution to a lot of our problems.

We have the most accessible, free-flowing system of information in any country and our Constitution works to assure that…but what makes people want to seek it out?  That’s what I’m interested in.  I can sit here and tell you why the world is unfair, OR I can show you parts of the world, and let you decide if it’s something you’re passionate about.

So whether you clicked on a link to one of Trump’s proclamations, or you googled Thomas Paine after you saw how good he looked in a snapback, you’ve completed the first step. Now just keep clicking, scrolling and watching.  You never know what’s going to happen next.

-MK

 

 

Leave a Reply

