I Didn’t Vote For Hillary, So I Can’t Be A Feminist

feminism

Last time I checked, feminism was about equality, similar to the U.S. Constitution. Unless of course you don’t conform to their specifications of womanhood. You see, people will preach that you can be whatever you want to be, as long as your opinions don’t differ from theirs.

I have some information that is going to break a lot of hearts: voting for Hillary didn’t make you a feminist–and more importantly–tearing me down because I wasn’t “with her” won’t make you any more, or me any less of a feminist either.

Some of the most active “feminists” I know are spreading the wrong messages.  If the point is that women don’t have to fit into the rigid roles a patriarchal society has carved for them, then you can’t create your own set of ridiculous standards and call it “equality.”  The problem with a lot of people’s definition of feminism is that it is dominated by white, liberal, middle and upper-class women.  The type of women who hear about the injustices of others, feel guilty because they’ve never experienced them, and–instead of working to fix them–write a long, involved social media post about why it’s everyone else’s problem.

Similar to how Hillary’s positions on gay marriage, immigration, gun control, mass incarceration, the Iraq War and even the Keystone XL pipeline conveniently changed the minute her voting numbers were in danger. Hillary’s feminism is not the kind I want.

I don’t want a world where everyone thinks the same.  I don’t want a world where we aren’t challenged by other people’s ideas, and I certainly do not want a world where we do whatever everyone else tells us to.

So, tell me I’m not a feminist because I didn’t vote for Hillary.  Tell me that “republican” and “feminist” are mutually exclusive terms, but understand that if that’s your definition of feminism–I don’t want to be a part of it anyway.

-MK

One thought on “I Didn’t Vote For Hillary, So I Can’t Be A Feminist

  1. Love this post! I agree. Feminists need to stop telling women what they have to believe in, vote for, side with etc. and be open to women having lots of interpretations of what being a feminist is about as long as we are advancing the rights of women in general.

    Like

Leave a Reply

